Well Played Universe…..

Murphy’s Law Part I

As I’ve been going through my stuff and figuring out what to keep, what to donate (cbf selling, just going to donate in one hit, just gotta see which charities come and do pickup, as I don’t drive, and also there’s a fair bit already) etc, I keep bashing myself up. Legs and arms are all bruised, with multiple scratches, and just generally sore spots. Even managed to take a bit of skin off my toe on some canned soup the other day when I didn’t put away my groceries straight away, instead continuing to go through another box.

And once I’ve injured one part of my body, it’s like that part is attracted to pain. After I took the skin off the toe, I kicked it about three more times on other random shit. I smashed my knee into the side of the couch the other day whilst moving some computer stuff, then somehow managed to thwack it into the fridge, and then again on the sharp corner on a shelving unit.

Fun times!

—–

Murphy’s Law Part II

I’ve been applying for jobs like crazy – not just any job – jobs I think I would like, or would be a good fit for, but still lots of applications. I’ve averaged 1-2 interviews a week the last few months.

And on Friday, I got an offer. Permanent Full Time position in West End (about 15 mins travel from home – part walk, part bus). I’d had the interview on Wednesday, and then got the offer Friday morning. I was excited. Nervous, but excited. Scared, but nervous and excited. The job is an Admin/Program Support Officer helping out with scheduling/planning audits of community services providers for a non-profit.

Then Monday I turned my phone back on after work and checked my voicemail. I had a call from a company I’d spent about 3 days working on the application for last week. They wanted to set up an interview and I was a bit upset. I really wanted that one. It was for a Junior Designer – something I’m really keen to get more into. But I told them I had just accepted another job, and although really interested, would have to decline, but would really appreciate feedback on my application. The HR team really liked what I’d done (I basically replicated the look and feel of the company’s website, logo, style into my application and then for the cover page I did it up like a html coded page), but they’d email me some technical feedback too shortly.

application p1

—–

Murphy’s Law Part III

So I started Monday, had today off as my parents were in town (a pretty rare thing that Sonja, my mum, was in town, as it’s usually just Rick, my dad, for police related stuff – they were here collecting their new car), and guess what, there’s two guys in the office of 10, and the one I seat near looks like, has the same dress sense and mannerisms of Phil. My Phil. Thankfully he isn’t called Phil, else that would’ve been too much, but still, it’s going to be…..interesting? torturous? challenging? a good test?

—–

And a Free Set of Steak Knives

When I had my interview last week I noticed the two Managers who I met both had the same shade of red nail polish, so I thought it might be a nice touch to paint my nails that colour red too. But I didn’t own a suitable red. It was 4pm on a Sunday afternoon, and I realised I also couldn’t find nail polish remover. And my last mani was chipped.

But thankfully, I live in the CBD and Priceline is fucken awesome and stay open on a Sunday until 7pm. So I trondled off not even a block and got my supplies, I also needed more base, foundation and a lighter powder, so I got all that, and because of the price of revlon products, I qualified for the free gift bag – which is actually pretty awesome, but it also contained a reddish polish that I could have just used, but instead I got the revlon scented China Flower polish (smells really nice) and just for something different put some purple/pink/blue glitter polish as a sorta reverse french type thing.

Priceline giftbag

This is the promo pic of the bag and what is inside.

20150505_20203320150505_202205  20150505_202808

And these are the pics of my bag and what was inside it – I really like this collection as it is stuff I already use/will actually use for the most part, and it’s good quality brands for the most part too (Sally Hansen, Essie, Revlon etc). A lot of these types of things are often shitty products they are just trying to get rid of, but I use Revlon lip crayons (and really like them), that’s a mini of the base I went and got the full size of, I use that mascara etc, so yeah good giftbag.

20150505_105917 20150505_202832

And those are my cleaned up nails, and the two polishes are Revlon’s scented China Flower red and Sinful Colours’ Frenzy glitter polish with OPI base and Sally Hansen 30sec quick dry topcoat.

—–

My Brother, The Cunt

So today we caught up as a family, which is pretty rare due to Rick and Sonja being out at Jundah (bout 2 hours from Longreach). They were in Brissy to get a new car, their old one wasn’t doing real well against the kangaroos or dirt roads, so they finally upgraded to an all wheel drive, and something with all the luxuries – 2 dvd players in the back, front seats can be individually heated/cooled, inbuilt fridge in the glovebox, these inbuild extra sun blocking blinds thingies, sunroof, dust setting on the windscreen wipers, big ass bullbar to tell the roos to fuck off properly.

Anyway, my brother, the ever inconsiderate prick, decided to reroute the trip from just a leisurely cruise round, some lunch and then Rick and Sonja heading off at a reasonable time to start the 14 hour trip home, to us going up a windy ass mountain, me spending the entire day feeling sick, and then him bitching when it was suggested we don’t have lunch at the top of the mountain as we still had to get to the bottom and food and nausea don’t mix. Instead I just skipped lunch and sipped ginger ale, and tried not to inhale the smell of the food around me which was making me feel sicker, and just felt miserable and yuck all day.

And because of how much time was spent fucking around on the mountain, I didn’t get to show Sonja round my apartment, which I’ve made a tonne of progress on, and I wanted to show that to Rick too, as the last time he was here it was a complete shmozzle, but that’s how it usually is, Naaman gets whatever he wants, and you just have to suck it up.

20150505_105930 20150505_10593920150505_203253

So here’s how things are now. I’ve basically got five piles in the living/kitchen area – 1) donate pile (right near the door, except Vincey Velociraptor is staying, but he’s there ready to greet folks that visit), 2) ironing pile (all those clothes next to the lounge), 3) sorted pile (the flattened boxes and clear stacked tubs in the corner), 4) to be sorted pile (all that stuff behind the lounge) and 5) throw out pile (garbage bags full of wrapping paper, stuff to throw out and flattened/damaged boxes – it is beside the clear tubs but you can’t really see it in the pics above).

20150505_104955  20150505_105003

And here’s some close ups of Vincey. A few things to note – his blow up point is pretty much on his ass, and I had just put on lippy when the idea struck, so his ass looks a bit sore and red. But yet, he’s still such a happy dude.

—–

Progress Update

So I’ve been off course kinda this week. But as I have to walk to/from the bus stop for work, that’s going to help with the light exercise.

I have just gone back to stocking my freezer with ready meals – 1) they are portion controlled, 2) it means I can eat at a decent hour, 3) I tried to get well rounded meals like meat with 3 vege, and no pasta options, and a few wholemeal options and things with tomato or gravy sauces not cheese or creamy.

I got a bunch of yoghurt and muesli (untoasted) so if the ready meal isn’t enough I have a good option for dessert.

I also got a bunch of different healthy type bars so I can take one each day into work and have it about 3-4pm and that should keep me going til I get home about 5.15-5.30pm.

And being back at work means back to lots of water.

And also it helps force me to regulate my sleep.

All things that were on my to do list anyway, so I think I’ll be okay.

—–

Here’s my repeat song of the moment:

About capitalmcmoo

A disoriented 80s baby in a world of "university is everything" mindsets, "everyone must unite and breed" mantras, a lack of good quality metal/rock acts touring Brisbane and declining quality episodes of The Simpsons. I'm opinionated, pessimistic and always looking at my half empty spirit.

Posted on May 5, 2015, in Creative Juices, Rebuilding the Empire, Working Girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment